Pt 2 – Project 2 Exercise 1 – Experimenting

A collection of sketches using different mediums to look at textures.

IMG_20150113_135838~2

 

Here I have experimented with different ways to demonstrate textures. With the images on the left I used a Chinese ink stick and applied it to a leaf for the one on the top left. I first tried to put the ink on the paper and then pressed the leaf on it in the hope that it would leave an impression or perhaps life some of the ink off to leave a pattern. Unfortunately this did not work so I then decided to do the more logical thing and apply the ink directly onto leaf and then pressed that onto the paper. It is interesting how there are blotches of ink that have congealed into specific places which could have been applied by brush if that was the goal however the detail of the leaf creates the image.

The bottom left image was me trying to replicate the texture of a blanket where I used brush strokes of Chinese ink along with charcoal. The pattern is really what I have managed to capture here as opposed to the feeling of the texture itself but I have tried to represent the ridges by leaving space between the lines and darkening them with the charcoal.

The image on the top right was me trying frottage. I pressed the paper against the side of my guitar amp which I noticed had a texture along the plastic. I pressed it with the side of the pencil and had to rub quite hard to lift the texture of the plastic out.

The final image was an attempt to get the texture of a piece of kitchen roll however the waxy material I used did not lift it particularly well, something to consider for next time. Although because of the waxy material it has still created a more three dimensional image of texture in itself as blobs of the wax are raised off the paper.

Leave a comment