Project 2 Exercise 3: Creating Shadow Using Lines and Marks

The main focus of this exercise is to continue looking at shadow but to use lines and marks to create them.

IMG_20141125_114356~2~2

This exercise was one of the more difficult ones I have had to do so far. One of the guidelines in the exercise description said not use obvious outlines and instead create the shape using the shading. Because it is comprised entirely of cross hatch marks, I found it challenging to get the shapes of the objects right just using this method. I reckon I have achieved the general shapes of the objects quite well but I can help but think the cross hatching could be stronger. The pot on the right for example does seem a little faint, the reason being that I was not confident with the technique enough to make bold enough marks because occasions when I did I would often have marks leave the boundary of the objects. I need to take my time with cross hatching and use more focused strokes to define an objects outline.

Leave a comment