Project 2 Exercise 4: Shadows and Reflected Light

This exercise looks at reflective objects and highlights from lighting. I chose a large tea tin and a very shiny stainless steel teapot for my drawing.

IMG_20141125_114534~2~2

 

I tried to use the cross hatching method from the previous sketch for practice on the shadow along with a mixture of broad strokes with the side of the charcoal stick. At first I was unsure about defining the lines of the reflections so much but I feel as though this has worked quite well and is effective at demonstrating them. The tin reflecting on the teapot can be seen and gives the impression well in my opinion. At least one area for improvement would be the tin as it does look a little more stripy than reflective. Also the shadowing underneath the objects could have been better defined but I think I was focusing on getting the reflections as good as I could.

The workflow this piece was quite interesting. Generally I really do not like to have to start a piece from scratch again once I have already started one of them. I got to doing the end of the reflection of the tin and was very unimpressed with my work so I started again while trying to focus on the doing cross hatching as you can see below.

IMG_20141125_114608~2~2

 

Once I had gotten to this point I was even more unimpressed and so upon reflection of the original piece, I decided to return to it and see if I could improve upon it further. I was glad I did because the second drawing I started was infinitely worse than the first in my opinion. I got a better grasp of what it meant to represent a reflection and so the first drawing was finished.

I think in the future I will have a better idea of how to do reflections on objects now and I am very happy with my understanding of objects reflecting off of one another.

Leave a comment