Pt 2 – Project 1 Exercise 1 – Compositional sketches of man-made objects

IMG_20150107_165454~2

 

Here is a quick sketch of a few objects for a small still life: a wooden shaker egg, a plastic whistle and a signet ring.

The sketch on the left lacks a little more detail on the shadow but I fell I have done some of the highlights on the whistle quite well. I used long strokes for the shading on the left sketch and could have used more tones on the egg to get more detailed shadow.

With the drawing on the right hand side I have attempted more tones on the wooden egg to get a more rounded feel to the object. I used hatch shading for the whistle because of the smooth flat surface due to the varying degrees of light that were bouncing off the whistle.

The signet ring was the most difficult because of the highlights and various reflections and capturing those tones. A dark tone reflection could be accompanied straight after by a highlighted reflection and so I had to be aware of where the tones began and finished.

Leave a comment