Pt 2 – Project 1 Exercise 2 – Compositional studies of natural objects

A set of compositional sketches focusing on natural objects

IMG_20150109_121144~2

The sketch above comprises of an apple, lemon and two mushrooms. I have looked specifically at shape of the objects and the representative shadows formed by them. The paper that the objects sat on created an extra layer from the table beneath which is shown by the shadow on the left where it starts higher and finishes further back on the table. I used hatch shading in one direction and kept it uniform throughout to clearly demonstrate where the objects lay in comparison to their shadows.

IMG_20150109_114616~2~2

With these sketches the focus was pushed more towards the detail of the shadows on the objects. I was able to capture the lemon more clearly by this angle but wanted to make sure the curvature of it was also presentable . Similar to the first sketch, the paper underneath creates a raised layer that separates the shadows but the paper itself needs shading beneath it as well. The mushrooms were the most exposed to the light and so had the lightest tones of all so the shading was a little more difficult to capture.

I wanted to try a sketch with some colour so I drew the apple by itself with mixture of greens, yellow and brown and then used B pencils to add darker shadows. I haven’t before mixed different shades with coloured pencils so I think the apple looks good with the mixture of tones. I was apprehensive using the B pencils to darken the shades because I was worried it may not blend well and instead cover the colour but I am glad with how it has turned out.

 

Leave a comment